Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

{don’t} follow your dreams

"Follow your dreams" sidewalk graffiti

Today I received three words of unsolicited advice in the form of sidewalk graffiti.

Follow your dreams.

As I walked, I started to think.

If I had followed my little-girl dreams, where would I be? Maybe drawing pictures for a living. Or making a fool of myself trying to be a ballerina (short-lived dream). Or being a mother.

And if I had followed my bigger-girl dreams? I’d be a fashion designer or the owner of a pattern company.

What about my grown-up dreams? The ones I have now? If I follow those I might be … (you didn’t really think I’d disclose that which is closest to my heart, did you? 🙂 )

So which of the dreams is the sidewalk-advice referring to? I can’t follow all my dreams. I don’t have time for all of them. Some I have no desire to follow anymore. Some even contradict each other.

Let my delight be
Living out Your dreams;

~ Broken Bread (Rend Collective Experiment)

What if I don’t follow my dreams. What if I follow Your dreams instead? Not you, reader. The You with a capital Y.

A wise woman encouraged me last week (as she has before) to keep myself in “neutral” as I face changes and decisions in my life. A few days later I was working through her latest book and found this quote that explains what she meant by that:

As soon as you begin to live the life of faith in God, fascinating and luxurious prospects will open up before you, and these things are yours by right; but if you are living the life of faith you will exercise your right to waive your rights, and let God choose for you.

~Oswald Chambers

So don’t follow your dreams.
Follow His dreams for you.

{Read the lyrics to Broken Bread here, or listen to them by playing the video below}

One comment on “{don’t} follow your dreams

  1. holderofthemt
    March 16, 2014

    Did you know Rend Collective will be in Prescott in June? We really enjoy this group. My kids are always singing “Second Chances” from the Campfire Album. It was a cool video with instruments in the water.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2014 by in Contemplations, GodStories, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other subscribers

Blog Categories