Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

One word for tomorrow and beyond

There’s a word that I can’t get away from. I keep being reminded of it, from the books I read to the sermons I listen to and the songs I sing. It’s a word for tomorrow and beyond, not just because I like to choose a “word for the year”, but because of the word itself.

But this I call to mind and therefore I have HOPE: The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases' his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

{hand-lettering by Jordan Newhouse}

Hope.

It’s a word I have trouble understanding, and even more trouble applying. It’s also a word I’m learning more and more about. I’ll share a bit now, but I encourage you to explore the concept of hope for yourself.

The Lord has promised good to me
His Word my hope secures
He will my sheild and portion be
As long as life endures.
{Amazing Grace by John Newton}

…We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed;…So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is beieng renewed day by day. for this light and momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal….
{2 Corinthians 4}

Why are you cast down, O my soul,
and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
my salvation and my God.
{Psalm 42:5, and again in verse 11 and 43:5}

4 comments on “One word for tomorrow and beyond

  1. Pingback: My One Word for 2013 | LifeVesting

  2. Create With Joy
    January 3, 2013

    Thanks for visiting me at Create With Joy. Hope has got to be one of the best words in the English language!

    I’d love to get to know you better in the New Year, Jordan! I hope you’ll consider connecting with us for Friendship Friday, Inspire Me Monday and/or Wordless Wednesday at

    Create With Joy
    http://create-with-joy.com

    Happy New Year to you! 🙂

  3. Pingback: act on that hope | Heavenly Princess

  4. Pingback: a single word |

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2012 by in Artwork, Blog Updates and tagged , , , , , .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other subscribers

Blog Categories