Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

I can agree…with him?

I know you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover…
but I could tell just by looking at him we’d disagree
(the nose ring wasn’t the only clue)
sure enough, he was gay
and pro-choice
and all-around not-my-type

you’d think we wouldn’t have a single thing in common
I would have thought so too
except
I’ve been trained not to make assumptions
so I asked some questions
and found some common ground

turns out he’s a history major
so instead of focusing on how I’d never trust a secular college to teach me history
I focused on how we both love learning about old dead guys

turns out he wants to adopt a kid (or more)
so instead of focusing on how uncomfortable I’d be with that (<<understatement)
I focused on how we’ve both dealt with the difficulties of our state’s foster care system

it was tough
but worth it
we walked away from the conversation civilly
he knew I didn't completely agree
but he also knew I wouldn't let our disagreements stand in the way of mutual respect

yeah, I said mutual
when I respected him
he respected me

I pray he walked away with a taste of my Savior
the One who respected me when I was utterly unrespectable

3 comments on “I can agree…with him?

  1. maestracn
    February 18, 2014

    Oh, Jo! You write so beautifully! I really felt what you wrote rather than just reading it. I hope you are keeping a journal of all these gems.

    Love you,

    Gramma

  2. Ruth McCabe
    June 26, 2014

    I love this writing Jordan….I have watched you grow up at CCC and although you do not know me I want you to know I will praying for you as you take this next step with JFA…

  3. Pingback: I can agree…with him? | Jordan Newhouse

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2014 by in Blog Updates, Contemplations, GodStories, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other followers

Blog Categories

