Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

The Work Was Love

{a little poem inspired by this prompt and not autobiographical, by the way}

The Work Was Love

The work was love
Invisibly increasing until I sensed you
Knitted together
Mysterious stitch under my ribs

The work was labor
Painful pressure until I felt you
Brought forth
Kid with haloed head

The work was life-long
Watchfully woven until I saw you
Slip away
Maverick with your own design

The work was lonely
Twisted tightly until I watched you
Join souls
Singles no longer

The work was lineal
Passed-down pattern until I heard you
Imparting instruction
Gentle guardian

The work was love
Passionate, painful, perplexing, private, public
Creating a masterpiece
Profound, precious, proud, pure, perfect

{I’m curious…how many connections to knitting and spinning do you see? There’s quite a few, some subtle, some obvious}

5 comments on “The Work Was Love

  1. Mema
    September 29, 2013

    Wow! Profound, and not about knitting, as I interpret it. Why don’t you enter that somewhere?

    • Jordan
      September 29, 2013

      I did enter it in the Twist Collective giveaway (the prompt I linked to at the top) – it’ll be entered into a random drawing.

      It’s not “about” knitting, but it uses many words familiar to knitters and spinners to create a sort of metaphor…

  2. maestracn
    September 30, 2013

    Beautiful poetry…very moving…how do you do it?!?

    Love you,

    Gramma

  3. Pingback: Deadheading ~ blessing multiplied by loss | Heavenly Princess

  4. Pingback: the work was love |

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2013 by in Blog Updates, Femininity, Fiction, Knitting, Poetry, Spinning and tagged , , , , .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other followers

Blog Categories

