Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

clothes communicate

clothes communicate (featured)

When you get dressed in the morning, what do you think about?

Do you think about what you’ll be doing? Or where you’ll be going? Or who you’ll be seeing?

I hope you do.

NYC crowd

Every day people see each other. Much of the time, they don’t go far beyond that.

I love to watch people. I’ve noticed that I can learn a lot about a person from what they look like.

And that’s a good thing.

redcoats

Sometimes a person is wearing a uniform.

Maybe it’s a literal uniform, communicating where he works, or where she plays. Maybe it’s simply a style of dress associated with a particular group.

Clothes communicate where we belong.

boys dress up

Sometimes a person is wearing a costume.

Maybe it’s a child, imagining himself to be someone he’s not. Maybe it’s an actress convincing others that she’s someone she’s not.

Clothes communicate who we want to be.

shorter skirt, different era

Sometimes a person is wearing a distinct style.

Maybe a girl is wearing a shorter skirt. Maybe a man’s coat is from a different decade.

Clothes communicate when we were born.

in the garden

Sometimes a person is wearing a hat.

Maybe a hat to shade from the sun. Maybe a hat to provide protection on the job.

Clothes communicate what we do.

what are you trying to say?

So what am I trying to say?

Maybe I should ask, what are you trying to say?

Because whether you realize it or not, clothes communicate.

One comment on “clothes communicate

  1. Jennifer Hanson
    September 19, 2013

    Sometimes I try to use clothes to convince myself and others that I have it together more than I feel like I do. Example – if I’m going to the grocery store by myself, I don’t mind wearing raggedy jeans and a t-shirt. If, however, I am going to the store with the twins in tow, then I like to look more put-together (nicer shirt, make-up, hair styled) because I don’t want people to view me as the frazzled mom of twins. I might FEEL like a frazzled mom of twins, but I don’t want other people to think of me that way and sometimes, the little extra effort on my appearance can help me have enough of a confidence boost to give me the energy to survive a trip to the grocery store with the twins. 😉

    While how one looks/dresses shouldn’t be hugely important, it is interesting how what we wear affects our view of ourselves as well as how other people view us. This reality definitely has a positive and a harmful side.

Leave a Reply

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other followers

Blog Categories

