Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

On hair (red, long, and otherwise)

Cutting my hair is such a rare happening that doing so this week has made me think a lot about hair – red, long, or otherwise. (Scroll down if you want to skip my ramblings and see the Before and After pics)
after-haircut2

Red
I decided to do a quick search on hair in the Bible. Perhaps I shouldn’t have been surprised to find that the first mention comes at the birth of a redhead. After all, “There is much, much more to being a redhead than the color of one’s hair.” (–G. Adam Stanislav)

Genesis 25:25
English Standard Version (ESV)
The first came out red, all his body like a hairy cloak, so they called his name Esau.

Long
Perhaps the most familiar Bible passage about hair, specifically long hair, is found in 1 Corinthians.

1 Corinthians 11:15
English Standard Version (ESV)
but if a woman has long hair, it is her glory? For her hair is given to her for a covering.

I’m not here to debate how long is long enough. In fact, I think there’s a reason that God doesn’t give people a legalistic line. All I know is I love having my hair at a length that just about everyone agrees falls into the “long” category. It makes it easy to feel feminine!

Otherwise
One last verse comes to mind when I think about hair.

Proverbs 16:31
English Standard Version (ESV)
Gray hair is a crown of glory;
it is gained in a righteous life.

This morning I happened to listen to a broadcast from Chris Fabry Live that aired back in August of last year. In it, Andrea Fabry (a beautiful woman seeking to live a righteous life) of MomsAWARE talks about gray hair. I thank God that I have many righteous women (and men!) with gray hair to look up to and learn from!

That’s all the randomness I have for you today. Thank you for your patience – here are some hair pictures 🙂

6:13 hair before

The before picture (courtesy of Moriah)

And after (courtesy of my dad)

And after (courtesy of my dad)

One comment on “On hair (red, long, and otherwise)

  1. Big Chuck
    June 22, 2013

    Jordan, you are beautiful as always. (Although, I can’t really tell how much you cut off.)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 21, 2013 by in Blessings, Blog Updates, feminine beauty, Femininity and tagged , , , , , .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 479 other followers

Blog Categories

