Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

Unglued Devotional by Lysa TerKeurst – Book Review

Unglued Devotional by Lysa TerKeurstUnglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress
By Lysa TerKeurst

This small book is the companion devotional to Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions. It is broken up into 60 short devotionals comprised of a key verse, Thought for the Day, a story from Lysa’s own life, and a closing prayer.

I honestly didn’t enjoy this book much. I had trouble focusing, and I couldn’t remember what I had read moments after I read it. This is my typical, albeit unfortunate response to many modern authors. My mom however, loved the Unglued Devotional! She and my sister have been reading it and saying how they can’t understand why I didn’t find it to be exactly the type of devotional I need. In fact, they find it so applicable and biblical that they are planning to attend an “Unglued” Bible study at our church.

The best sections seem to be in the very middle of the book. Days 28-32 are titled “Procedure Manual Steps”. They work together to formulate a plan of action to apply in “unglued” moments. I found it odd that such foundational application was in the middle, rather than at the beginning, but I’m guessing that this parallels the Unglued book somehow. I’m sure it would be best to use the devotional after reading Unglued, although it’s not absolutely necessary.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2013 by in Blog Updates, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other followers

Blog Categories

