Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

Understitching – what difference does it make anyway? (and a sneak peek!)

Confession time.

When I learned to sew, I didn’t “get” a lot. I won’t blame my teacher – I’m hard headed!

One thing was fabric grain. I started out thinking the grainline was only on pattern pieces for directional or “napped” fabrics.

Needless to say I have learned a lot since those pre-teen days.

Like what an amazing difference understitching makes. (If you don’t know what it is, check out this quick tutorial from Coletterie.) I didn’t understand what that extra little line of stitching did. I mean, I knew it was supposed to keep the underside of edges from rolling out, but I didn’t understand how. Unfortunately, if I don’t understand the importance of something, I don’t do it. (Yeah, “because I said so” never worked on me…but I’m getting better.) Now I get it.

Here’s where the sneak peek comes in. I saw the importance of understitching very clearly on my latest project. In the photo, the left side is understitched and turned. The other side is simply turned. Neither side is pressed. The difference was even more clear in person, especially because I hand picked the understitching like in this article from Threads Magazine.

It was so easy to press the collar and lapel after I understitched them. I am officially won over.

What about you?

  • Do you have any understitching tips?
  • Or maybe you have a similar confession to make 😉
One comment on “Understitching – what difference does it make anyway? (and a sneak peek!)

  1. velosewer
    November 6, 2012

    I’m glad you can see why understitching works. I use understitching when I want a lovely finish.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 22, 2012 by in Blog Updates, Modern Clothing, Women's clothing and tagged , , , .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other followers

Blog Categories

