Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

Celtic themed casual dance

Irish lass

This summer, We Make History held casual dances twice a month. Each month had a different theme. The theme for August was Celtic, so everyone was invited to wear green, plaid, or anything else celtic-inspired.

Three Celtic Sisters

Moriah wore her 1860 dress with a plaid sash (she put on her hoop after this picture was taken). I wore my dad’s 1860 shirt, a vest that Moriah made, and the skirt from my 1870 traveling dress (minus bustle). Oh, and I tied a bit of plaid fabric over my hair like a headband. Bethany wore modern casual plaid.

You can see the back of my outfit here

The lighting inside wasn’t great, but here’s a sampling of the action!

Full length picture of my outfit

It was fun to create an outfit inspired by elements of history without worrying about representing an actual historic period. I was also happy to go with the “Merida from Brave” crazy red hair instead of my usual smooth 1860 updo 🙂

Have you ever been to a historic dance, or another event that called for some sort of historic dress up?

3 comments on “Celtic themed casual dance

  1. Rozann
    August 28, 2012

    With your red hair and fair skin you look like a Celtic Princess!

  2. Rebekah's Quill
    October 12, 2012

    Your outfit is beautiful and you look lovely! 🙂

    I transferred the Kombucha post to my new blog. Here is the new link: http://rebekahsquill.com/blog/?p=531134

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 27, 2012 by in 1860s, 19th century, Blog Updates, Femininity, Recreating History and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 479 other followers

Blog Categories

