Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

American Heritage Festival weekend

I had a wonderful weekend in Queen Creek full of friends, fun and history!

I was able to be a part of the “first impressions team” on Friday (school day) when we had thousands of schoolchildren come through. Elizabeth and Melissa did the tour, and I helped keep the groups organized.

Saturday I spent mainly with Elizabeth of Rapunzels Resource and other friends.
Elizabeth of rapunzel's resource doing my hair

My family (all but mom) came and joined me on Sunday. The boys have new outfits, which I hope will be featured in my gallery very soon. I also remade one of Moriah’s dresses to fit Bethany.

I spent the night Friday and Saturday at the home of a reenacting family. Their youngest daughter taught me to milk goats, so I helped out. My corset really helped to stabilize my back while I milked 🙂
Milking a goat in 1860 civil war dress and shawl

One comment on “American Heritage Festival weekend

  1. Gramma Newhouse
    November 22, 2011

    Love it!!! The one photo reminds me of seeing some cousins of mine, about 5 girls, lined up braiding each other’s hair…five heads of hair done in five minutes! They were redheads, too.

    You also look quite comfortable milking the goats. I hope you can have your own someday.

    We love you!

    Papa and Gramma

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 22, 2011 by in 1860s, 19th century, Blog Updates, Recreating History and tagged , , , , , , , .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other followers

Blog Categories

