Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

Valentine’s day…

Here’s the thing about Valentine’s day. I never even knew about it until I was 16.

That day some people came to our apartment. My mother said to stop glaring, they were there to help us. I glared anyway. If marauders hadn’t come to our village we wouldn’t need their help. We would be at home in Africa and my father and sisters would be alive.

Just before they left one of them looked at me and said, “Happy Valentine’s day”. I couldn’t understand her language, but her kind smile communicated plenty. It was at that moment that hope began to find a place in my heart…

I wrote the above in response to a writing prompt on Go Teen Writers. Every other Monday, a new prompt is published, and people 25 years old and younger are invited to write the next 100 words as if it were the beginning of a novel. The greatest thing about it is that regardless of whether you are selected to be in the top three for any given prompt, you get feedback from the judges. It’s been great and I have learned a lot!

Go check it out!

Oh, and by the way, the above was chosen by two of three judges to be in the top 3 🙂

One comment on “Valentine’s day…

  1. Gramma Newhouse
    March 26, 2011

    I would have chosen it for the top three as well! You can really write in a way that makes us want to read more.

    Keep it up!

    Love, Gramma

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2011 by in Blog Updates and tagged .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 479 other followers

Blog Categories

