Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

Literary Heroines

I heard about this blog party yesterday, and knew I must join in the fun – especially since I am working on growing my “Literary Heroines” doll dress line!

What follows answers the questions posed by our hostess…

The essense of a true heroine is a lady who walks with God. A lady~ one who embraces her femininity openly and has a gentle and quiet sprit. She walks with God~ talking to Him constantly, and humbly following His leading in every situation.

Four literary heroines that I would like to discuss are the March sisters from Little Women. Meg I admire for her ladylikeness. She also strikes me as a good leader, even if her sister Jo doesn’t follow. Jo is too much like myself. While I am not a tomboy like her, I share her passion. I’m learning to use it for good (as Jo did in her writing) and not evil (oh, that horrid incident with Amy!). Beth is gentle and quiet, humbly fulfilling her duty to her household. Amy is a sweet girl underneath her predisposition to fashion and what others think. The trouble is she wants to be liked, which can be a good thing so long as she uses it as motivation to love others with Christ’s love.

My top five historical novels would be The Dove in the Eagles’ Nest by Charlotte M Younge, The Wide Wide World by Susan Warner (who also wrote the song Jesus Loves Me), Stepping Heavenward by Elizabeth Prentiss, How They Kept the Faith by Grace Raymond, and Little Women by Louisa May Alcott.

My favorite character out of all of those books would probably be Katherine of Stepping Heavenward. She is veery much like me and I first read the book when I was having a lot of trouble with the same things she did. She offered me hope that things would get better if only I grew closer to God and grew to know Him better.

I’m supposed to talk about a dream vacation now… Hmmm. I would love to go back to Pennsylvania and explore at my own pace. Gettysburg would definitely be on the itinerary, the town, the battlefield and the cemetery. The Lancaster area would be wonderful to visit again too. Leisurely this time!

I love to read about the American Civil War, specifically from authors who lived during that time. Being a reenact or of the period, anything I can glean for my portrayal is an added bonus.

If I were invited to perform at a local charity concert my act would likely be comprised of singing and playing the piano, though perhaps a recitation in historical clothing would do as well.

For my 16th birthday (nearly 3 years ago- my!) I held a literary tea, where all the ladies invited we’re asked to dress as a favorite literary heroine. I was Christina, from the Dove in the Eagles’ Nest.

Chocolate~ sharing it with a friend is always nice. I don’t prefer most varieties, though very dark chocolate is quite tasty.

Elizabeth Prentiss is certainly a favorite author of mine, perhaps even my most favorite (at the moment).

As a small, imaginative, red-haired damsel might query; would you rather be divinely beautiful, dazzlingly clever, or angelically good?
Dazzlingly Clever~ it is perhaps the only one I could ever hope of achieving!

I believe that most of the books I read were written in the 19th century, though some are from the very early decades of the 20th.

In my opinion, the ultimate hero in literature is… Strong in character; loyal to God, his wife and family; humble; tall and handsome;
Oh, that probably isn’t what you were asking for… Let’s see, Master René from How They Kept the Faith matches that description rather well.

My ideal dwelling place would have many books, and room for me to design and sew. I place to write, draw and paint would be nice. It shouldn’t be too big, but large enough to entertain guests.

Have you ever wanted to change a character’s name?  I can’t say that I have!

Javert from Les Mis came to mind first as the most dastardly villain in literature, though perhaps a worse one could be found.

Three of my favorite non-fiction books would be the Bible (that is one amazing masterpiece), The God Who is There by Francis Schaffer is also wonderful and Mimosa by Amy Carmichael is one of the latest biographies that I have read (Ms. Carmichael had a wy with words).

My duties met for the day, I would spend a carefree summer afternoon reading, writing, drawing, painting, or sewing!

My hat would be classic, not overly feminine, though distinctly female. Extra decoration would be minimal and the color must be practical so as to go with any outfit. Sun protection is a must for this pale redhead, and I would like to be able to wear my thick hair up underneath it.

A very significant event that I have experienced this year would be the addition of a sister for just two months. She was a foster child and terribly affected what had happened in the first four years of her life. She attached herself to me, and I was thrust into many mothering duties. The next significant event was her abrupt leave of our home. Everything I had learned about love was reenforced by that loss.

An inspiring Bible passage:

4 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice.
5 Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand;
6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.
7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
8 Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.
9 What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me-practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

And lastly, my views regarding those adorable little items – namely pin back and mirror back buttons.
1). Where would you choose to display a button badge to best showcase your unique style?

Perfect for the handle of my book bag (the one made of dark denim and lined with fabric printed with books!)

2). What image and/or sentiment would most make you smile were it inscribed on your very own compact mirror?

Romans 12:2
And do not be conformed to this world but be transformed by the renewing of your mind…

5 comments on “Literary Heroines

  1. Gramma Newhouse
    February 16, 2011

    You have a wonderful way with words. It was fun reading all your “answers” and knowing more about your thoughts.

    I love you…Abuelita

  2. Kellie
    February 17, 2011

    Thank you for joining, Jordan!

    I enjoyed reading your answers so much! I, too, love The Dove in the Eagles’ Nest – I read it when I was a little girl, and it has long been a favorite.
    I was happy to find out about your literary tea! I had a similar party for my eighteenth birthday last year, and I portrayed Marguerite Blakney from The Scarlet Pimpernel. That was really the inspiration for this whole event!

    Blessings,
    ~Kellie~

    • Jordan
      February 17, 2011

      Wow, I think you are the first person I haves met who has read “dove” aside from the woman who gave mine to me!

  3. riahjoy
    February 17, 2011

    Great thoughts; great passages…so proud of you for thinking about excellent things and practicing them. There is no greater joy than to have my children walking in truth. Thank you for the example you are to your siblings. He IS transforming you through the renewal of your mind.
    love you
    mom

  4. Elisabeth Allen
    February 18, 2011

    I like your ideals about a hero! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2011 by in Blog Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other followers

Blog Categories

