Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

The wardrobe

I suppose I could enter this in the Places of Narnia category…

I think that now is as good a time as any to introduce you to my favorite piece of furniture (especially because it’s Narnia week)! This is my wardrobe. I received it from my grandparents last year, because they redid their bedroom and it no longer fit the decor! Most likely built in the 19th century, this piece is beautifully made. The original keys are long gone, but my grandma put some keys in the keyholes of the drawers to be used as drawer pulls. I store my reenacting supplies and clothing on the pegs inside, and I have hats and baskets on top.

Every time I open the wardrobe door a sort of excitement comes over me. It’s like I’m opening up a bit of history and mystery! I wonder who else has stored things in this beautiful old thing, and where it has stayed. Who designed it and built it? Was it made especially for anyone? Imagine the stories we would have if every previous owner had stowed a journal entry it its drawer!

You and I can imagine anything we like, just remember to never close the door to reality behind you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2010 by in Blog Updates and tagged , , , .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other followers

Blog Categories

