Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

Chores for little guys~Washing produce

My little brothers love to help wash produce, especially when we’re processing a lot at once. Here Joshua is getting ready to make applesauce. That’s why the apple he’s holding doesn’t look exactly… fresh. 😉

Usually, to wash the apples, we fill the sink with water and float the apples in there. Joshua scrubs until he looses interest 🙂 then the sink is drained and the apples are used. This way, all the apples at the very least get submerged in the water. We also use organic apples, so we aren’t worried about washing pesticides off the fruit.

I hope you’re enjoying this series so far. I’d really love more “little people chore” suggestions! I can either link to your own posts about it, or post your pictures and/or descriptions here on my own blog.

3 comments on “Chores for little guys~Washing produce

  1. Sonja Langford
    April 20, 2010

    Very Cute!! 🙂

    I wish we had some little helpers at home. 🙂 I heard from my mom that you will be splitting some orders up, and I was wondering if I could help you when we come by to pick up our order. 🙂 I’m not sure if you’re looking for experienced splitters or not, but I’d like to help if possible. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Sonja

  2. Jacki Easter
    April 21, 2010

    Here are a few ways our little one likes to help around the house.

    1. She helps sort clean laundry by matching socks, matching her own top/bottom outfits, or by collecting all of the washcloths into a pile to fold.

    2. Our pantry shelves are low, so she also helps put groceries away by sorting canned/boxed/jarred goods into groups of like items.

    3. She likes to help put clean silver ware away out of the dish washer. For example, she collects up the spoons and hands them to us to put in the drawer (she can’t reach the drawer). SAFETY NOTE: We hand wash all of our knives, so this isn’t a problem.

    4. Our kids’ laundry hampers have wheels, so she likes to “drive” her laundry to the laundry room.

    5. We have a kid-sized table and chairs for snack/play. She likes to wipe it clean by herself.

    I hope that helps with ideas.

    Jacki

  3. Mikala
    April 21, 2010

    Hmmm…ideas? Our little kids empty out trash cans, take turns cleaning their room, and two of the little girls used to unload the dishwasher (except for the glass stuff, of course) 🙂 I don’t know if this really helps, but these are some of the things my little siblings do to help around the house.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2010 by in Blog Updates.

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 479 other followers

Blog Categories

