Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

1860s Corded Sunbonnet

Inspiration: I made a slat bonnet a while ago…and never wore it. I don’t like feeling like a mailbox. I drew up my pattern from the Duchess Martin bonnet (I’ll link to a picture when I come across it again 😉 )

Materials: Cotton batiste, “Sugar and Cream” cotton yarn (cording), muslin for the brim lining, homemade starch, narrow tape for ties

Construction: I did all of this by hand. Yes, I know I’m crazy. All those little lines in the brim are hand-stitched channels with cording threaded through them. The crown is gathered on a cord to fit the brim, and the curtain is gathered the same way to fit the lower edge of the crown. That cord is adjustable. Making and applying the starch deserves it’s own post (if anyone’s interested, that is).

3 comments on “1860s Corded Sunbonnet

  1. Allison Elizabeth
    March 21, 2010

    I’m sure the stitching was time consuming, but I think it was worth it! This bonnet is stunning!

    Allison Elizabeth ♥

  2. Rebekah
    March 29, 2010

    Good job!! I’m not sure I would have the patience for all that hand stitching! :p

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  3. Lucy
    January 4, 2011

    It’s lovely.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 13, 2010 by in 1860s, 19th century, Recreating History and tagged , , , , .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other followers

Blog Categories

