Heavenly Princess

encouraging femininity

Flavored Kombucha

 

Mmm, Mmm, Good! I never thought I’d be saying that about Kombucha, but this stuff is so tasty! The original recipe (and suggestion to use ginger) is from my friend CJ, but we tried our own variations.

First of all, you need to brew your Kombucha. I decided not to go into it since Rebekah already created such nice instructions (with pictures!). I do it basically the same except that I use only 3/4 cups of sugar.

After I have the finished brew (it takes about 5-10 days, depending on the temperature of the house), I pour it into jars (CJ uses bottles, which increases the carbonation). Then I add the flavors! The picture above shows the four we tried (we had already drunk some so that’s why some aren’t full) L-R: Apple ginger, plain ginger, lemon ginger, blueberry ginger. In case you didn’t notice, ginger is a key ingredient. I really think that’s what makes it taste so good.

How to make ginger juice:
rinse ginger root.
place in blender.
cover with water.
puree.
strain off liquid (this is your juice)
use pulp for lemon ginger muffins…I’ll have to post that sometime!

Freeze this ginger juice in ice cubes, filling the cubes only halfway. Use one of these cubes for a quart of Kombucha.

Now that you know how to prepare the ginger, here are some recipes for flavored Kombucha. For each, combine ingredients in a quart jar, cover with the lid and let sit on the counter for about 3 days, or until it taste right to you. It will be fizzy. like soda. A new little scoby will form on the top. You can put this in a smothie or use it in a recipe like this one for a hair rinse (beware–this guy is a rambler…). I’ve also heard it’s good to use on your face.

“Apple Cider”
~one ginger cube (as prepared above)
~four thin slices of apple
~one quart fermented Kombucha

“Ginger Ale”
~one generous ginger cube
~one quart fermented Kombucha

“Lemon soda” or “Super Tasty Liver Cleanser”
~one ginger cube
~two thin slices of lemon
~one quart Kombucha

“Blueberry soda”
~one ginger cube
~8 frozen (or thawed) blueberries
~one quart Kombucha

If you try these recipes, or have some of your own, please post them in the comments! I want more ideas ๐Ÿ™‚

Lastly, if you live nearby feel free to request a scoby! It grows and multiplies, so I’ll have some extra.

6 comments on “Flavored Kombucha

  1. Rebekah
    March 3, 2010

    Hello Jordan,

    I’m sorry I didn’t return a comment sooner – I haven’t been on my computer much this week. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love to drink Kombucha! I have not ever tried a second ferment but yours sound good! If I can get some ginger again soon, maybe I can try one! They sound quite delicious!

    Thank you for linking to me and thank you for the comments! ๐Ÿ™‚

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    โ€œBe diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.โ€ 2 Timothy 2:15

  2. Cynthia Jeub
    March 7, 2010

    Wow – great idea for a new Kombucha recipe!

    A variation I enjoy is to use flavored tea bags before I add the scoby and let it ferment. My personal favorite is Celestial Seasoning’s brand Raspberry Gardens green tea.

    Thanks for the great post! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Helen V.
    March 25, 2010

    Hi Jordan,
    I really enjoy the ginger and lemon. Recently, I have been adding a little organic raspberry juice concentrate to my second ferment and it comes out like what I think raspberry Fanta would taste like. It helps me stay away from soda which is my weakness.
    By the way, I love your pictures:)
    Mrs. Vosburgh

  4. Nicole F.
    January 12, 2012

    This was really helpful, I have been looking for ways to get a good ginger flavor for kombucha, thank you for the tips!

  5. Jordan
    June 28, 2012

    Reblogged this on Creative Nourishment and commented:

    This is the most popular post on my main blog! Sharing it here, so it’s easy to find.

  6. KimberlyD
    November 8, 2012

    Jordan this is all fascinating to me. I had never heard of until now. I am going to try soon and use all of you wonderfull sounding variations. What a beautiful presentation. Thanks dear!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2010 by in Blog Updates and tagged , .

My Pinterest

My Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other followers

Blog Categories

